Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I sit here, on this fourth day of my vacation, and sigh.  I feel it slipping away already, yet I have a week to go.  I have half a page of to-do items and that doesn’t include the marking I still have to do for my transcription class.

I was so excited to go to the trailer for the weekend just past.  Well, it wasn’t that exciting, unfortunately.  I have been feeling very anxious about leaving my house lately.  I thought it was linked to the stress I was feeling from work.  I think it’s just everything.  So Friday evening, after a big, long, drawn out teen drama, at around 8:30, I was so agitated I just wanted to pack up and come home.  I managed to quell that with a glass of wine and I settled in.  Saturday I wandered around town, something I never get to do otherwise and that was quite relaxing.  What wasn’t, and the other thing that got me down so much, was the beach was closed.  Beach access was taped off because we had so much rain that they were afraid of it washing out and stranding people down there.  Sure I could have gone to town to the public beach but I had a very specific destination in mind so I wanted to walk our beach.  Anyway, I ended up packing up around thunderstorms to come home and got here well ahead of my grandma’s memorial service in the chapel at the nursing home.

Monday morning my daughter texts me from the road… I found a kitten.  Inhale sharply.  Great, just what we need, a kitten.  Of course I have a mushy heart and I agreed to let her bring it home because the alternative would be death.  Can’t save everyone but we save those we can.  He’s about 8 weeks, extremely underweight (almost a skeleton), has an eye infection and possibly parasites.  He has to live in the basement until we get some answers.

On the whole, I’m grateful to be on vacation and out of the office.  I think those stress levels, at least, have lifted some.  Replaced by other stresses but not as severe as those from the job.

I’m managing to get a few things accomplished though I’ve also had a few rejections.  I tried to query to You & Me magazine and they promptly replied with a NO.  That was a bit depressing.  I had also applied for the Orcas Islands artist residency… well, no, no room at the inn.  At least they sent a comment that I can share in my books and on my website… a little like Sustainable Arts.

So I am moving onward… I entered my short story into a contest where the second prize is a week at a residency in France.  We’ll see what happens there.  Lastly, I finally have Confessions in the Mural published to Kindle and coming out July 1st in time for Canada Day!  You can find it at the following sites…

Amazon.ca: https://www.amazon.ca/Confessions-Mural-Mysteries-Pamela-Clayfield-ebook/dp/B073BLZLNG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1498740649&sr=8-1&keywords=Pamela+Clayfield

And, of course, Amazon.com: https://www.amazon.com/Confessions-Mural-Mysteries-Pamela-Clayfield-ebook/dp/B073BLZLNG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1498740605&sr=8-1&keywords=pamela+clayfield

I will also be running promotions for Canada’s 150th birthday by offering my other books free for Kindle as well.  Just go to Amazon, type in my name and find the book you’re looking for!

All-in-all, so far, I don’t feel like I’m on vacation.  I feel like I’ve just transferred my powers.  I also need to get out the other laptop and start applying for a few jobs before they disappear on me because I’ve been too busy.

Until later and I’ll keep you posted!

