Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is the time of year where I become frazzled but calm all at the same time.  I love the Christmas season with the lights and the decorations making everything so much more beautiful.  As an amateur photographer, it’s a great time to experiment with what works and what doesn’t!

But I always feel frazzled too as I race against time to shop for gifts and wrap them.  There is always so much preparation and then it’s over in a day.  That makes me sad.

I’m finally starting to feel a bit more normal emotionally.  That was quite the ride we were on.  I am still nervous that it will happen again.  I hope that, too, fades with time.  The horse is thriving once again and the two had a great lesson on Friday night.  Looking at our pretty palomino, it’s hard to believe that she was where she was and came home only two weeks ago.  She’s even getting way too accustomed to coming in at night!  If I (or rather my daughter) could afford it, I’d continue to bring her in at night indefinitely just to keep an eye on things.  I sit and wonder if she wasn’t brewing something like this in the weeks leading up to the big slide.  She just didn’t seem to be herself before.  She seemed to need extra encouragement to do anything.  Now, she’s in there and she’s happy and she’ll take on any challenge.  So keeping her in at night might help us to keep a closer eye on her.  On the other hand, my dear daughter can’t keep running out morning and night… at least she has the energy for it!

I finally opened the binder containing Confessions in the Mural.  I had printed the first 31 pages and gone through and edited them some time ago.  Before I finished the remainder of the manuscript.  Now I’m going back over those first pages and changing some things again… I hope, when the time comes, that I will be able to follow all my notes!

This afternoon I’m going to an Essential Oils gathering.  I’m going to make a bracelet and a roller ball and I’m not sure what I’m going to put in them, yet.  I’m thinking something to manage stress.  My pain is chronic, in my back anyway, so very little is going to change that.  But if I can reduce some of my stress levels then perhaps it will slither down and remove at least some of the pain caused by tense muscles.

I’m looking forward to it.  As a nurse, it’s always interesting to learn about something that medicine can’t always look after.  I know my boss isn’t into “holistic” methods of treatment but sometimes people aren’t looking for those addictive pain killers or antidepressants, or sleeping pills.  Another option, for me, would be to boost my mood because it’s that time of year when the old Seasonal Affective Disorder starts to creep out of the closet on me.  With the events of this month, I’m surprised I’m not feeling more depressed than I am… though I think decorating for Christmas was the mood-booster I needed, for now.  Time will tell!

Anyway, I will let you know what I learn, if I retain any of it!

