Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

It has been quite some time since I have had to comment on how I’m being treated at work because things improved there for quite some time.  Since Thursday, however, it seems that my very own Nightmare before Halloween (a new spin on the old movie) started Thursday and it’s not letting up.

It is, quite likely, time for me to once again consider my options moving forward.  Why haven’t I already?  When things were bad before?  I keep coming back to the question: what happens if it’s worse somewhere else than here?

We are all on a journey.  Some of us just seem to have a far better idea of where that road is going than others.  For fifteen years I have written more and then less, and then more again.  I created courses, I taught and since making a pact with myself to blog every day for 30 days (54 days ago now) my writing has been on the upswing.

But is it enough?

I have multiple issues as far as getting my work traditionally published.

  1. I have self-published everything to date which makes it incredibly difficult to try and sell any of it because in their eyes, it’s published.  It doesn’t matter how many copies sold.
  2. I’m currently working on not one but TWO sequels which isn’t going to help any because even if a traditional publisher was interested in a sequel, well, see #1.
  3. Most of the traditional publishers in Canada want literary work, not contemporary.  For some reason the publishers here seem to think that the bulk of the country is wordier than the rest of North America… guess that’s why we end up with some of the politicians we do… until now.

Is it going to happen soon enough?  And is there a point to it?  I don’t want to put down the traditional publishing world because I, too, would love to have the opportunity to get an advance (though much smaller in years past), have an editor and a cover designer and have the assistance for marketing (and I realize that a large chunk of that falls to the author).  We all do.  Either that or have the cash flow where we can go to Volumes or one of the self-publishing houses where you actually pay them $1500 or $2000 and they’ll edit your book, work with you on cover design, sell and ISBN number and advertise it to libraries and bookstores.  Sure, I’ll get right on that.  I’d settle for an amount that would let me see Paris!

So, once again, I head towards the end of another year getting negative attitude from work and just wanting to crawl into bed and never come out.  It seems to be the cycle of my life and maybe this time it really is the last straw.

