Tags

, , , , , , , ,

And it wasn’t even HOT!!

Work was not fun.  The boss was grumpy, it’s flu shot season and the phone would NOT stop ringing!

I also came home this afternoon to find out that we didn’t get any mail, again, today.  We haven’t had anything all week, not even that little stack of junk mail that goes straight to the blue bin.  So I don’t know what’s going on but it’s getting really frustrating because I always question whether I should have stuff sent here or to my parent’s.

Lastly, I found my daughter on the couch suffering with a migraine.

All I kept thinking was how much I really wanted to be at home.  How much work I could get done on Confessions and perhaps even my blog post.

I’d really like to have Confessions wrapped up before NaNoWriMo begins because it will once again delay my thoughts and ideas.  I’ve already reworked this story how many times?  That is about ten days away.  So I need to get a move on to finish it off.  I don’t care if it sits, it should sit, especially if I’m happier with it.  I have roughly 60 pages to go.

I also need to start thinking, seriously, of what I want to write for NaNo… I know, you’re not supposed to cheat but is it cheating if you’ve had an idea, you’ve played around with that idea and now you want to run with it?

I was discussing NaNo with someone today and I explained that in its infancy, NaNo was a 50,000 words in 30 days challenge.  That was pretty much it.  There was gifting, there was no NaNo shop (where you can get really cool things, yes I have on several occasions) and there was little networking.  It was just fun.  You wrote your 50,000 words, you uploaded and you won.  The idea was to sit down on November 1st and just start writing.  Now there are emails with hints to hitting the word count head on and pre-planning as best you can–plot, characters, whatever you want or need to plan–before starting on November 1st.  I’ve never been a planner so it doesn’t really matter to me.

Many of my novels have come out of NaNo.  It’s fun.  It’s so cool to see what the mind is really thinking.  You write roughly 1,667 words a day so you just go.  You put your fingers on the keyboard and you start typing and you type whatever comes to mind.

So, if you haven’t already signed up and think this is intriguing enough to give it a go, head on over to nanowrimo.org and sign up.  There are no prizes for finishing first, second, third.  Just for finishing (and it’s just a certificate but one you can feel proud about).

Will I see you there?

 

