Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday, in the midst of all the horror called w-o-r-k, I got an email from The Write Life, it was an email.  The email was about writing for 30 minutes every day for 30 days to become a better writer. 

I scanned the article (and later printed it when I had time) and quickly wrote a comment.  What have I been doing?  Writing blog posts every day for the last month and a half.  Forty-eight days now to be exact.  I wrote that I chose to do it so that I was writing something daily to get my mind back into daily writing and keep my mind thinking about writing. 

Much of what I have read about writing lately is that writing daily is important.

Write, write, write!  And, take my word for it, it works!

I’m sure that it would be so easy to find the real reason why.  The chemicals that are emitted in the brain in just the right quantities, etc.  But I’m going to say that it’s the same as everything else… practice makes perfect!

I woke up at 3:50 this morning and I never went back to sleep.  It wasn’t for a lack of trying.  One of the things I couldn’t stop thinking about was that I never got the chance to write anything yesterday aside from my blog post. 

It’s amazing how that damages the thought processes.  I stated my concerns about going back to work and how I had done so well  with writing and then I had to go back.  Exactly what I didn’t want to happen, happened.

This morning I slipped down to the basement to do a few things on the computer including emailing my manuscript to myself so I could access it at work.  I did but I didn’t get the chance to do any work on it.  After I hit send though, I ended up adding about half a page to it so I haven’t gone all day without writing something.

So now I’m going to see if this is even going to work.  This is exactly why I haven’t been using my laptop and I’m worried that this post isn’t going to register.

It’s time for me to rest.  I hope!

