Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Today was a very emotional day for me.  Twenty-eight years ago I said goodbye to my great-grandmother. She was a wonderful woman with a huge heart.  She gave plenty and my memories of her are of baking, sleepovers, grocery shopping, watching TV (her favourites being Dukes of Hazzard and The Love Boat) and going into her change purse and giving me pennies which she called coppers.  I’m in the process of writing my mini-memoir starring her and those memories but today was the day.  I wanted to go to the cemetery but I just didn’t have time.  It was also supposed to rain.  I can shed those tears now.

On the opposite end of those emotions was my outing this evening to show off some of my wares and talk people into writing 6-word stories and entering them into the contest.

I had a little girl stand there and enter about ten!  I couldn’t help but laugh at a few that she did tell me.  Others she kept secret.  Either way, I will read them all.

I also had a patient come out and stay awhile also greeting those who stopped by the table.  We chatted about writing, school, family, the future… oh, I never finished wishing him luck on the US election and the Facebook post I had seen regarding that.  Ho hum!

Even my daughter came out!!  I was pleasantly surprised as she never wants to come out.  She was intrigued by the contest but I think she really needed to talk to mom about the riding lesson that wasn’t because her poor horse was so stiff from the cold weather.  Usually I would be there and this time I wasn’t.  I think she really needed to share that with the mom who is usually there for her and she was going out with friends afterwards.

So I’m glad I went.  It was fun and it felt good to be out there networking again with other artists in the area.  It’s been a few years since I’ve done that.  I’m glad we got to move inside too.

And hey, go check out my picture on Twitter as an advertisement for Space Finder Waterloo Region!  Maybe I should put that on my books!  And is it an ad for them or for me?

 

It has been a month!  I have blogged every day.  And, at this moment in time, I don’t want to give it up.  I might skip tomorrow but only to give myself that break for a day… but then again if I stop will I go back to it?

But I’m definitely going to blog about it!

