Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As you know, I have been revisiting the last fifteen years… the entire time I have been writing.  I have been working on a ‘start-over” plan where the details are just a little bit murky.

I keep asking myself the same questions:

Where do I start?
How do I go about this?
Do I include everything?  To which the answer is actually a resounding NO!  So…
What do I include?
Do I do it all in order?

Like even thinking about all this isn’t confusing enough… I’ve gone and added, on top of the already wobbly pile, the idea to once again revisit my Henry story.

In addition to writing for the last fifteen years I have also had a passionate love affair with Harry Potter… no, no that way but I, like millions of others on this planet, fell in love with the story.  I have read the books and watched the movies dozens of times and it still stirs in me the desire to travel back in time and steal that napkin from J.K. Rowling!

A number of years ago, six to be exact, I started writing my own magical YA book.  It was about a 12-year-old boy who adores Harry Potter.  So much so that he wishes he could be him.  At age twelve he has re-read the novels and, probably much like me, can retell the story to anyone who will listen.  He knows, as do I, without looking it up, that Snape was not the master of the Elder Wand, the reason why and who actually was.

So it turns out that he’s a real wizard.  Their magical world is hidden and he is very similar to the Chosen One, when he gets that far.

But I could only make it so far.  As soon as the writing crossed to the romance between Henry’s mother and the Master Sorcerer I gave up.  I packed it in and put it away.

So the other day I got it back out… well the original, partial manuscript; I don’t know where my pages and pages of notes are.  I read what I had and it’s not bad.  I just don’t remember all my ideas which isn’t always a bad thing.  I don’t remember if I had more of a plan.  I know I had considered a series, likely a trilogy, but do I or don’t I?

I think I paused it because, at the time, I think i was worried that it would be another one of those books about magic” and be tossed from one slush pile to the next.

I think I also pressed pause because I wasn’t able to finish it in my time frame never mind just getting it done all in good time.

Now here we are more than five years past the end of Harry Potter an we’re still talking about it, we’re still reading it, we’re still watching the movies and I’m still using it as my go-to when teach both adults and kids.

So I’m going to give it another go.  Why not?  What’s the worst that can happen?  I shelve it again, perhaps for the last time.

I just have to stay the course.  I have to remember that it’s not the end of the world if I have to put it away again and that if the story is meant to be told I will be able to tell it!

One more thing to add to my to-do list!

It’s long enough!

