Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

It is May 15th correct?  The middle of the month of MAY?  Are you sure?  The high today is 6(C) and there is currently white stuff coming out of the sky!

I don’t want to turn it into a lesson of sorts by saying that life throws us curve balls all the time but it does!  When was the last time anything went smoothly, as planned?

I think that’s what works best for us writers.  How do you tell a story if nothing ever goes wrong?  When we are stuck on a story what do we do best?  We ask ourselves the infamous “What if?” question.  Well known and overused because it works!  I teach that in my classes.  If you get stuck… what if?  What are the worst three things you can do to your character?  For some reason “kill them” comes to mind… I’ve been reading too much Harry Potter!

That is the worst thing you can do to a character though.

But think outside that.  If I haven’t mentioned it before I have a horrible back.  I was born with a sixth lumbar vertebra where there should only be five.  What should be the upper, and largest, part of my sacrum (the upside down triangular shape that lies between the spine and the tailbone) is my sixth vertebra.  The pelvis is supposed to come around and attach to that triangle… when you don’t have the full-size, it’s hard to attach.  That creates instability through my pelvis.  So I live in pain every day and lately it has been getting much worse again.  No matter what I do, nothing seems to help.  Stress from work is likely not helping my situation.

Anyway, think of that as something to throw at your character.  I would like to but because I live it, I somehow can’t bring myself to forcing it on another.  I’m not sure why.  Perhaps because I can live through my characters who are whole, at least that way.

When I had breakfast this morning I wasn’t sure what I was going to post.  I had a fairly decent day on Friday the 13th, in fact I always do.  Yet, today my mind isn’t on writing really.  I think I have overloaded myself.

Between my start over plan and trying to make a list of all the things I’d like to be able to do it has become overwhelming again I think.  I want to implement the plan, but I also would like to finish Confessions as well as the Mystery in the Attic sequel.  I also haven’t written a thin in my memoir in over a week.  I’ve been so focused on job postings and applying to them that it has taken over everything.

I guess once in a while that’s bound to happen… we get overwhelmed and we don’t have a choice… we just have to take that break and regroup.

I’m regrouping!

