Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So I was sitting at work last week and it occurred to me that perhaps I should implement a “start over” plan… however I’m not sure how it would work.

Fifteen years ago when I started writing only the big best-selling novelists had their own websites.  The average person didn’t.  There was no Facebook or Twitter or LinkedIn let alone a blog.  Authors didn’t have to build their platform and their brand, they could simply spend their time writing.  They could produce work and do their best to sell it.

Times have changed and I have tried to change with it but I feel like I missed the boat in some ways.  It makes me wonder if I’d be in a better place had I had those platform-building abilities fifteen years ago.

Had I been blogging and had my own website along with my Twitter feed and a designated Facebook Author Page would I, could I, have built a bigger following and sold more books?  Would people be anticipating my next novel?

When a real-life Doc Brown invents a real time machine, maybe I can go back in time and find out! Maybe I can invent the blog!

I also just read an article about a writer who decided, one day, to write a blog a day for a year.  Oh how I would love to take that challenge!  Wouldn’t that be great?  To write one blog a day for a year?

He, however, wrote a lot about life in general.  In order for me to do that on this blog I’d have to come up with a LOT of material on writing.  And, no, I don’t want to start yet another blog… I have enough already!

So I will continue to think about that.  If I manage, somehow, to come up with a bit of a plan on how that will work, perhaps I’ll start June first.  I think I would definitely have to get the WordPress app on my phone to start.  Sometimes I go days without turning on my laptop.  Yes, I spend most days looking at a computer screen at work and some days, like right now, I’m lucky enough to be able to get online for multiple things.  Other times, not so much.

I extend this challenge to you–think about whether you could blog daily or not and try to stay on topic.

