Tags

, , , , , ,

Ha ha! My laptop is sooooo slow that Levels in the title actually came out Leels for a moment!

Well this week has not been fun… things just seem to be spiraling downward.

Do you even get told that you have to relax, that everything happens for a reason and that God only gives us as much as we can handle???  I’m past that!!  I’ve gone WAY past that!

And now I just had a power failure which knocked out my internet!  Luck?  What is that?

Anyway, I’ve resigned to a few things at this stage and this little voice in the back of my head (or perhaps it’s on the right side of my brain) is telling me that it can all be food for a character’s background some day… when I’ve managed to get through it and over it.

It’s true too.  And it doesn’t have to be a part of the character in that moment… the moment of the story… but it can be part of her history and be part of why she is the way she is.

I read the start of a rude argument against authors… that we use friends and family and their flaws against them in our books.  That’s not true.  We use pieces of those people.  Perhaps we use only the flaws because the flaws are really good ones.  If our friend has been as such long enough we know the reason why.  So we use that background and the flaws in our characters but does that mean that the character automatically becomes the real-life person?

Anyway, I just thought, since we were on the topic of characters that I’d put that out there.

I’m starting to apply for more jobs… this past week I applied to the local college as an instructor for Health Office Administration… I taught the equivalent from 2002-2004 at a career college and loved it.  Here’s hoping.

