Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I can’t believe the number of so-called Writing Job websites that I subscribe to both on email and Facebook and those are aside from the websites I visit frequently.

Is it too much to ask for something where I can write a few articles and/or blog posts in a month that I get paid for on a recurring basis?  Good grief!

Do I not apply to enough?  Do I not apply to the right ones?  I’m trying to do this around a full-time job so I don’t want to get in over my head because I don’t like to let people down.

Then life happens though!  I haven’t even had my laptop open since Wednesday thanks to… well, a miscommunication which doesn’t even come close to defining it.  I got a notice last Sunday saying that there was going to be an electrical inspection on Friday April 1 and I needed to provide access to my electrical panel in the basement.  I was informed on Wednesday that it was access to every receptacle in the house!!!!  Seriously???  So my Wednesday and Thursday evenings were spent moving items around, with my parent’s help, to give access…

Friday required less help to put it all back but help all the same!  Some things still aren’t back entirely the way they were!

So things like that happen and before you know it, the opportunities are gone… again!  And to spend hours scouring for writing jobs that aren’t going to pan out are a waste of good writing time!  At least I think they are but then I have decreased time to begin with to write so decreasing that makes writing time zero.

I know I’ve asked this question before but I ask again… where are the real writing jobs?  Not the ones on Craigslist and those places where half of them are barely real.  Perhaps there are just so many applicants that I end up on the slush pile?  Or maybe I need to get my resume in there before everyone else… again, I don’t have that kind of time!

Perhaps I’ll never win when it comes to that… Hope Clark’s newsletter is a wonderful spot to start but I’m also the type of person who would prefer to be given a topic and I will produce rather than trying to spend time I don’t have writing an article and then trying to fit it in somewhere.

Well, I guess I better get back to camp planning!  At least it’s something that should produce!

