Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Walt Disney said those words and they are the first slide in my PowerPoint presentations when I’m in the classroom.

Because everything is currently on the upswing… teaching Cursive, will be teaching the adult class, have camp set and advertised… I always get that feeling like I can fly… like my dreams really could come true! Then there is the huge BUT!!!

So I’m going to continue working away at my writing, once the last Adult PP is finished and the new Camp material has been written.  I have to get that done first.

I did pick up the copy of The Writer that I bought a couple of months ago that I had figured most of it would be irrelevant as it pertains to Memoir writing. As you know, I have been thinking about writing one memoir or another and I think I’m settling on My Fifteen Years of Writing rather than a Decade of Family Practice.  One of the articles, Back to Port by Brooke Warner talks about strategies for when you are into your memoir and you are suddenly drowning in what you have. Information overload.  One of the suggestions was Scaffolding. She describes it as “outlining on steroids”.  Basically it’s summarizing your project with “what’s coming, scene-by-scene, in three sentences or less per scene”.

I thought it was probably a bit drastic for me personally because if you’re going backwards with information you could just use scaffolding to cut and paste.  I, however, decided to use it as a pre-writing exercise since I haven’t really started yet. (Well, I did and it basically summarized everything in about three written pages and everything was scattered).  I did it more by Chapter rather than scene.  I figured if I can spell out my writing career to date by year, or by novel and teaching then I have a focus on where to start and end.

I think I can figure out the rest.  Now if only I had the ending I’d really, REALLY like…

 

