Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So I told myself this year that I was going to do my best to be a more active participant in the arts in the region as well as my craft itself.

So far, I have submitted to two competitions and I just submitted two poems to a local Call for Entry for Art That Moves You… this is a joint project to put art on some of our buses for riders to enjoy.

When I write poetry, usually the mood has to strike so this was different.  I wrote down words that might be encouraging to riders, especially at the end of a long day.  I think, I hope, I came up with something that will first be appreciated enough by the judges to reach those riders who need those words.

So I’m trying!  Helping my daughter with her Creative Writing homework actually helped to spark it again for me… don’t tell her!  Actually do!  I think deep down she knows how important my writing is to me so for her to know that she helped with this in some way might be just what she needs!

I have much on my to-do list!  I want to schedule a Cursive Writing class for after March Break sometime.  I’m also waiting to hear back from the Button Factory but that will likely take some time since the Winter Session is really just starting up and I’m supposed to be going on in the Spring Session.  I also need to start planning an Advanced Camp.  I’d hoped to hear back from more campers parents than I have so far because this year it goes from a 4-day to a 5-day which means an extra day of rent plus an extra three hours of ME!  Plus extra crafts!  I’m not sure what to do if I don’t hear back from at least a few more who promised they were going to bring their young writers back if I ran an advanced camp.

This is what happens when you have more than one pot to stir!  One pot always ends up being neglected and, in my case, it’s often my writing that gets ignored!

Let’s shoot for the stars this year! I believe I already said that this year!  I’m saying it again so let’s do it anyway!

I will definitely keep you posted on the Art That Moves You project.  I do hope that I am one of the chosen.  I think it’s a terrific project idea and hopefully it will lead to more focus on the arts we have in this region!

