Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This is the last long weekend of the summer and we are lucky enough for it to be HOT!  I know plenty of people who don’t like the heat but I don’t like the cold and I like to complain about the cold so I can’t complain about the heat!  We can’t have the best of both worlds!

I guess the same is true for writers.  We get up each day and hope for the best that day.  Whether we have to go to a job or whether we have writing work to do in our home offices we still have to hope for the best which is mainly being able to find the words to put into the piece or pieces we are working on that day!  We can’t have the best of both worlds.

As I stood at the barn the other evening, I came up with a potential new story.  It would probably suit the 12-14 year old age range best.  I just haven’t had a moment to try to work out any more of the details than the main premise.

As you know from my previous entries, time is always an issue for me, as it is for most writers I’m guessing.  Because I don’t have a huge support system my time gets sucked away.  Even after fourteen years I don’t have a big cheering section.  So this week, I am still on vacation and my daughter is back at school.  I’m hoping to focus on that storyline!  Get something built up so that even if I don’t start it until NaNoWriMo in November (which seems a million miles away!) I can at least have something to work on until then.

I read something that I found very interesting yesterday in The Writer.  It’s an article that went back to their September 1956 issue.  It talks about building character and very little has changed which is always fascinating… basically to know your characters as well, or even better, than you know yourself!  Figure out what kind of character your story needs and then build that character…
Where are they from?
How does he or she dress?
How old is this character?
What colour are his or her eyes and hair?
Height?  Weight?
Other features?  What do the hands look like?  How does he or she walk?  What about laugh lines which, of course, are dependent mostly on age?

Then there are the questions around what this character does?
In school?
Has a job?  What does he or she do for a living?
What are his or her hobbies?

Lastly, of course, we all have flaws!  Give your character a few flaws because there is absolutely no way that this person can live on earth as anything other than an angel and be perfect!
Eloise Jarvis McGraw couldn’t have stated it any better!

Happy writing on this beautiful long weekend!

