Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

No, I’m not going to spring forth into a lesson on how to write a speech but it seems to be where my writing has been at this week!

I have a daughter in Grade 11 and it is only now, believe it or not, that they are being introduced to speech writing and public speaking!  I was doing that somewhere around the Grade 4 mark with book reports.  Of course there was plenty of input from the teachers then.  Now, they are given a topic and told to write a speech.  There is little assistance, not even a lesson on how to do this.  In some ways it’s very similar to writing an essay but my daughter has only learned that this year too!  I digress… there is simply little assistance.  They are on their own.

Of course my daughter comes to mom with anything to do with the written word.  And why not?  Perhaps it is cheating?  But nothing says I cannot help my child where her teachers don’t, won’t or can’t.

So not only did I assist with writing a speech on Laughter… the best medicine but her friend came to me begging for assistance on her speech on Human Rights… now there’s a topic that canNOT be, in any way, shape or form, forced into TWO pages!  Good grief!!  I could easily have advised her to ramble on about right and wrong: bullying, harassment, sexual assault, abortion, doctor-assisted suicide and how it all fits into the Declaration.  But no, I thought it was better to broach the entire subject from the time the Declaration was adopted to how it fits into our existence at this level and on future levels and how we are the lucky ones to have the freedoms we have.  Hopefully a neat and tidy package.  She’s going to mull it over but I think we have a winner!

So, if anyone needs a short speech written, let me know… ha ha!!  I’ll be continuing to edit The Trinket Box.  I’ve added a few handwritten pages with the changes I wanted to make.  I’m glad I made that choice.  So far it’s gone easily.  However, I’m afraid for when I start moving backwards in the manuscript!   That will make for a LOT of arrow drawing and, for some reason, I’m not very good at following my own arrows!

