Tags

, , , , , ,

This comes to you late, by a day, due to circumstances beyond my control…

Actually, I was entering the final edits of The Trinket Box into Word and it sucked up all my time!  But, they are entered.  That’s the good news… the BAD news… I don’t like the flow of the ending!!!

AGHHHHH!!!!

This has happened before… it means that it will take even LONGER to get it finished and published… ho hum because it was a bit of a time sensitive book!

So I will persevere… I will print the new manuscript and see if I can work out that ending.  And maybe the beginning.

These are the joys of editing!  You never, ever know what you’re going to discover when you edit.  Just like writing the novel itself… you never know where you (or rather your characters) are going to end up!  But that’s the fun too!  Once the characters come to life, they, not you, take over and tell the story and you have little control.

The editing can do the same.  Like us, characters are allowed to change their minds.  It’s whether we want to let them or not.  Sometimes I don’t want to relinquish that control because I’ve worked ‘x’ months on this and I see the light at the end of the tunnel and they want me to go back to the beginning because something else, perhaps more exciting, has just happened to them.

But either way, it is worth it in the long run… even though it doesn’t feel like it right now!

