Tags

, , , , , , ,

It never ceases to amaze me how it feels to take a weekend away at the trailer and spend time in the sun and on the beach.  I couldn’t wait to walk barefoot on hot sand this year after the horrible winter we had.  Let me tell you, it was HOT! Hotter than HOT!  I swore I was going to have blisters on the soles of my feet!

But the lake was calm and I collected my usual (though smaller) array of stones and baby shells.  It was incredible to be back there again.

The best part of the weekend though was sitting somewhere (on the deck or the couch, doesn’t matter) with a cup of tea and read the arsenal of writing magazines I took along: my latest copy of Writer’s Digest arrived in the nick of time and I made sure I went to Chapters for copies of The Writer and Poets & Writers.

I also had along the remainder of a children’s book I said I would read and comment on.  Now the bad part–giving constructive criticism to an 11-year-old.  His mom said he’s open to making any changes I suggest.  I hope so!  Not that there’s a lot really.  The biggest is to introduce all important characters early on and he introduces an older brother more than halfway through which was shocking to me (no he wasn’t the long lost kind either) though maybe to a grade 1-2 level reader it’s perfectly fine (feel free to leave comments on this!).  Otherwise it’s a cute story and I hope he can find someone to do the artwork and becomes a great author.

So as I write this, I’m feeling relaxed and ready to take on some creativity of my own.  I didn’t get much opportunity to actually put pen to paper but I’m not finished… I’m ‘ready to write!

