Why doesn’t anyone take me seriously?

I have been writing for more than 10 years. I first got a Diploma in Creative Writing and now I just got a B.A. in Creative Writing when I could just as easily have gotten a degree in science or otherwise with a major in Nursing or healthcare or something.

I’m serious about this. Would I have developed curriculum to teach writing or have dreams to open my writing centre if I wasn’t serious about any of it?  This isn’t like taking up a new hobby like knitting, learning all you can and then dropping it because it got boring!

I’m incredibly frustrated with my job because, to be frank, I’m tired of dealing with stupidity. That’s the bottom line. My writing takes second place to work and I don’t WANT it to anymore. Sure it’s easy to say “just quit” but there is rent and bills to pay so I don’t have that option.

I feel stuck between a rock and a hard place right now.

Doesn’t 11 years and 8 novels count for something?

 

